it’s raining…

by Rachael

…and I really feel like closing my computer down and crawling into my nice, warm bed with Julie and Julia, reading a chapter and then slowly drifting off to sleep for two hours until my husband gets home.

If you take a nap now, my mind tries to reason with me, you know you won’t be able to sleep tonight. Yes, I’m quite aware of that. But it’s not like I have to go anywhere tomorrow or anything. Well, tomorrow night, but that doesn’t count.

 

Dinner is in the crock pot–my brand new, shiny crockpot. I broke my last one, you see. No one told me that pouring cold liquids into a hot stoneware dish is a no-no. That cracking sound was horrible…Chicken and Wild Rice. Comfort food. Mmhmm.

 

Hands-On Time: 15 minutes
Ready In: Low 3 to 4 hours
Yield: 4-6 servings

Ingredients

2 slices bacon, chopped
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 1⁄2 pounds chicken thighs, trimmed of excess skin
1⁄2 cup diced onion
1⁄2 cup diced celery
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
3⁄4 teaspoon salt
1⁄4 teaspoon black pepper
1⁄2 teaspoon dried sage
1 cup converted long-grain white rice
1 package (4 ounces) wild rice
6 ounces brown mushrooms, wiped clean and quartered
3 cups hot chicken broth, or enough to cover chicken
Salt and black pepper, to taste
2 tablespoons chopped parsley, for garnish

Directions

  1. Microwave bacon on high (100% power) 1 minute. Transfer to 4 1⁄2-quart slow cooker. Add olive oil and spread evenly on bottom. Place chicken in slow cooker, skin side down. Add remaining ingredients in order given, except parsley. Cover; cook on LOW 3 to 4 hours, or until rice is tender.
  2. Uncover and let stand 15 minutes. Add salt and pepper, if desired. Remove skin before serving, if desired. Garnish with chopped parsley.

 

I left out the celery cause that is one of the vegetables my husband will not eat, even if it was the last bit of food on earth during a zombie apocalypse(which is impending, according to him).  Also, I used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of the thighs, since he doesn’t like bone-in chicken either. Substituted low sodium, fat free chicken broth and omitted the salt in the dish to help with the sodium content.

Promise, this one’s a keeper.

 

